iPad an oversized iPod touch or the computer of the future ?

engadet.com just now shut down commenting on their site due to
“…environment for our users and editors has become mean, ugly, pointless, and frankly threatening in some situations…”
all because of the iPad, why all the fuzz ?

I have never seen so much press, twitter and blog activity over one single gadget. The tech guys are really mad due to missing features and the press is having a grand day. The Flash/HTML5 battle turned into a frenzy when Mr Jobs showed a web site with the infamous Flash missing plugin lego. But I think they are all missing the big picture here, what is the iPad really ?

As I see it the iPad is the future of home computing because of one single factor.
The ability of the masses to use it.
@zeldman put it this way in his blog
“The bulk of humanity doesn’t want a computing experience it can tinker with; it wants a computing experience that works.”

Lets face it, the bulk of humanity finds it difficult to use computers, hell I find it difficult to use computers and I have been working with them for 15 years. I think the iPad can be the first computer that really makes it easy. And that fact is what really matters.

As for Flash/HTML5, I think it is now up to Apple and Google what happens with Flash. I predict that the time of plugins are over, at least as we know it today.

